Longlist of the 2017 International Prize for Arabic Fiction

The International Prize for Arabic Fiction (IPAF) is a literary prize managed in association with the Booker Prize Foundation in London, and supported by the Emirates Foundation in Abu Dhabi. The prize is specifically for prose fiction by Arabic authors, along the lines of the Man Booker Prize.

The aim of the award is to recognise and reward excellence in contemporary Arabic fiction writing and to encourage wider readership of good-quality Arabic literature in the region and internationally. The prize is also designed to encourage the translation and promotion of Arabic language literature into other major world languages. An independent board of trustees, drawn from across the Arab world and beyond, is responsible for appointing six new judges each year, and for the overall management of the prize.

Sahar Khalifa

Yesterday, the (IPAF) announced its 2017 longlist. The novels selected were chosen from 186 entries from 19 countries, all published within the last 12 months. The longlist was chosen by a panel of five judges chaired by Palestinian novelist Sahar Khalifa, and also includes Palestinian translator Saleh Almani, Libyan writer Fatima al-Haji, Egyptian novelist Sahar ElMougy, and Greek translator Sophia Vasalou. This is the first year the judging panel has been announced so early, and the first year for it to be dominated by women.

The full 2017 longlist, as provided in alphabetical order, by the prize organizers:


Author Title Country of origin Publisher
Yassin Adnan Hot Maroc Morocco Dar al-Ain
Sultan Al Ameemi One Room Is Not Enough UAE Difaf Publishing
Mohammed Hasan Alwan A Small Death Saudi Arabia Dar Al Saqi
Sinan Antoon Index Iraq Al-Jamal
Najwa Binshatwan The Slaves’ Pens Libya Dar Al Saqi
Amir Tag Elsir The Resort of the Enchantress Sudan Dar Al Saqi
Ali Ghadeer Swastika Iraq Dar wa Maktabat Sutur 
Renée Hayek The Year of the Radio Lebanon Dar Tanweer, Lebanon
Zuheir al-Hiti Days of Dust Iraq Dar Tanweer, Tunis
Ismail Fahd Ismail Al-Sabiliat Kuwait Nova
Abdul-Kareem Jouaity The North Africans Morocco Al-Markez al-Thaqafi al-Arabi
Tayseer Khalf The Slaughter of the Philosophers Syria Arabic Scientific Institute for Research and Publishing
Elias Khoury Children of the Ghetto – My Name is Adam Lebanon Dar al-Adab
Mohammed Abdel Nabi In the Spider’s Chamber Egypt Dar al-Ain
Saad Mohammed Rahim The Bookseller’s Murder Iraq Dar wa Maktabat Sutur 
Youssef Rakha Paolo Egypt Dar Tanweer, Egypt

This is the tenth year of the Prize, which is recognised as the leading prize for literary fiction in the Arab world.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s